‘Tis The Season

E8D2A16B-25FB-491C-A3F2-61509128463A.jpg
Yesterday, my guy best friend, Sawyer, and I were on our way to JCPenny’s to give our friend, Haden, some Starbucks for his birthday. On our way there, an old homeless man was walking down the road. Sawyer quickly turned his car around, pulled over, and offered the elderly man a ride. I gave him my front seat, helped put his wheel chair in the trunk, and off to the store we went. As we drove, the man – Kitty, as “meow meow” he said- spoke of his favorite cereals, and began to thank us for the ride. After arriving at the store, as I helped him out, he explained to me his medical history. After listening and helping the man, I began to realize how grateful and blessed I am for things.

This holiday season, I want to challenge whoever reads this to do one good deed this holiday season and to spread some holiday cheer to someone who might not be as fortunate as you are. It doesn’t have to be giving a homeless person a ride – I’ll be the first to admit that it was a very risky act we did, but I’m glad it turned out how it did – but something that could bring joy and kindness to someone else. Earlier that morning, I had actually texted a woman I know and asked her if I could accompany her on her rounds for ‘Meals On Wheels’ while I’m on winter break. After seeing that man’s face this morning when we wished him a ‘Happy Holidays’, I’m very glad I offered to help more people and spread some holiday cheer. This season isn’t just about receiving, but about giving as well. I mean, isn’t the phrase “‘Tis the Season?”

Leave a Reply

