18th Birthday Celebration – Part 2

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

 

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

If you have not read my last post, then you wouldn’t be aware of the fact that I recently hit my second “milestone” birthday! If you did know that already, then I applaud you. But, let’s keep this birthday story moving shall we!

Before we get into the full climax of the  story, I find it best to start at where I feel is the beginning, before my Birthday. A few months before my birthday, I began planning my big celebration. One of the things I always imagined that would occur on my birthday, is that I would be spending my special day with those close to me – my family and friends. Well, every time I would mention my plans and the trip to my friends, they would be hesitant about going because we would be missing two days of school. As my birthday began to rapidly approach, I accepted the fact that i would most likely just be celebrating my birthday with just my family. Though I  greatly enjoyed my family celebration, I couldn’t help but imagine what it would’ve been like to celebrate with my friends as well. Not wanting to dwell on it, I enjoyed my birthday and proceeding to join in on plans for a group hangout the following Friday.

That Friday morning, one of my friends texted me and confirmed a pick up time for me – our group plans were to travel to Cookeville and spend a night out of town and perhaps go to the movies. I texted him back letting him know that I wold be ready at the given time. When the time came, we left my house and proceeded to pick up another friend then off to Cookeville we went. Once we arrived, our friend that lives there called and let us know that her mom needed  her to run a few errands real quick. We decided not to waste our few minutes of free time and proceeded into – in my opinion – one of the best stores ever: Hobby Lobby. After walking around the entire store looking for a bathroom and then browsing, we got the “okay” call from our friend and off we went to meet her!

Now, back story on this particular friend, if your’e a frequent reader, then you will know her as the wonderful friend I model for – An. My dear An moved to Cookeville during eighth grade, but we still maintained to stay very close. For that reason, EVERY TIME I see her, I always run up and hug her – this night proved to be nothing but the same concept. When we barely parked the car, I jumped out and ran inside SATCO to meet her. As I was running up to the door, I noticed that a boy was in there with her and immediately thought it was just her brother joining us. After I busted through the restaurant doors, I was proven wrong. Hiding behind the columns with An were my best friends Abraham – who I thought was An’s brother – J.D., and Savannah. After asking them why they were there too, I stopped running and noticed the banner behind them. All i could managed to get out were the words, “Is this for me!?” After An screamed “SURPRISE” at me, I proceeded to become overjoyed with tears of joy and fell to the ground. Speechless and sobbing, I realized what was going on: my wonderful friends had thrown me a surprise party.

Abraham picked me up off the ground and held me in the cradle position until I was able to stop crying. He grabbed a crown off the table and placed it on my head – which only made me cry a little bit more. Once I was able to breathe again, I stood up and hugged everyone then blew out my candles. I was in such a complete in shock the rest of the night, but I still had the best night ever. We laughed, goofed off, and even became friends with one of the SATCO workers! I could not thank my friends for enough for what they did. Looking back on it now, I still find myself smiling at the memory. It was truly a night I’ll always remember – a wonderful way to end such a wonderful birthday celebration.

Leave a Reply

