A Glimpse Back

The other day, my English teacher assigned the class our final paper to write. After all of the agonizing moans, we glanced at the prompt and realized what it was. A few years ago, I wrote a paper entitled “Entrance Interview,” and as I looked down at the prompt in front of me, I read the words “Exit Interview.” It’s finally time to leave high school. Now, me being who I am, I wrote the responses to the questions are realized how completelyextra my responses are. And since some of the questions are actually quite good, I thought I’d share my responses to a few.

1. What was the best part of your senior year?

  • For me the best part of senior year would have to be being able to experience everything for the last time. Events like experiencing my first days of high school, the times sitting (well standing) in the student sections, the long hours I spent after school just roaming the halls, and even all the times I broke dress code and never got caught; all of these events create a happy memory for me. My senior year was filled with experiencing these moments for the very last time. When I look back on my time spent in high school, these are the type of events I will remember.

2. If you could be anywhere in the world right now, where would you be?

  • If I could be anywhere in the world right now, my first thought ideal place would be a small town in Italy, where I could walk around in sundresses and fresh cut flowers with nothing but a smile on my face. But, as I dig deeper into my heart, I realize if I could truly be anywhere in the world, I would fast forward my life to the point in time where I am laying in bed with my husband and our children surrounding me. I’ve chosen this moment because to me, that is when I know I’ve accomplished so many goals in life. It’s my happy place and I’m not even there yet. 

3. If you could go back in time, what would you change about your high school experience? 

  • Looking back over my high school life, the only thing I would change about my time at high school would be my stress level. Almost every year, I always became very stressed at the end of the year. Looking back, I realize most of the stress was due to procrastination. Going forward, I hope to bring down my procrastination level.

4. Who inspires you?

  • As odd as it may seem, I inspire myself. I find that if you look to somebody else as a role model, they are who you aspire to be. Well, I strive to be the best version of myself. So with that in mind, I try to inspire myself every single day. I want myself to be caring of others, to be passionate about life, and to be courageous in everything I do (no matter how big or small). If I can do that, then the only person I need to try to be, is me.

5. What is the most important lesson you have learned about life this year?

  • Oh boy, I sure have had a handful of life lessons learned this past year. If I had to choose one that I thought would be the most important, it would be: Life is too short and bittersweet to be spent with a frown. This past year, I have had the amounts of ups and downs that most teens have spread across their entire teen-hood. Some events may have been more drastic than others, but I made it through all of them. Through it all, I learned that no matter what happens, everything will be okay. The moments I spent completely upset at the world sad about things, were completely pointless. Being upset did not solve any problems, but only made me more upset, just like being sad. The only things I accomplished while being sad were having tear-soaked sheets and forming wrinkles on my face. Every morning I was able to wake up with a fresh start, and it took me way too long to notice that. Life is only as beautiful and wonderful as one makes it; so deciding to begin each day with a positive attitude is the best advice I could ever give anyone.

6. Where do you see yourself in five years?

  • I remember freshman year being asked where I would find myself in the future and I would always have such an elaborate answer. Now that nearly four years has passed, I have realized how completely wrong I was. In five years from now, I see myself, a college graduate, beginning to finally embark on life. I hope to have a set career in mind and to be working towards whatever goal I have set for myself then, but I am not going to promise myself anything. Maybe I will be moved out of the house and out on my own. I might be a true adventurer and would have traveled to over fifteen countries by then. Or maybe, I could be engaged ( I always imagined myself being engaged around twenty-three). The possibilities are completely endless and the fact that I am unsure of what I will be doing excites me. It makes me look forward to what life has to offer me.
Leave a Reply

